NASCAR at Daytona live race updates, results, highlights from Coke Zero Sugar 400

NASCAR is getting what it wanted when it scheduled the summer Daytona race as the 2020 regular-season finale for the Cup Series. Multiple drivers have chances to clinch one of the three open playoff spots heading into a Saturday night race at one of motorsports’ most unpredictable tracks.

Saturday night’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway will set the 16-driver field for NASCAR’s 10-race playoff scheduled to start next week. Clint Bowyer, Matt DiBenedetto and William Byron entered the weekend in the last three playoff positions based on points standings, but Jimmie Johnson and Erik Jones were not far behind.

Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin was considered the favorite to win Saturday night’s race with Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick close behind on the odds board. Of course, those odds don’t mean much in a superspeedway race when simply finishing is the first priority for all 40 drivers.

Sporting News is tracking live race updates and lap-by-lap highlights from Saturday’s NASCAR race at Daytona. Follow below for complete results from the Coke Zero Sugar 400.

MORE: Watch Saturday night’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Daytona live race updates, highlights from Coke Zero Sugar 400

NASCAR is offering a free live stream of Denny Hamlin’s in-car camera throughout Saturday night’s Daytona race. Below is that stream:

Live NASCAR playoff bubble positions as they run:

Pos. Driver Points +/-
14. Clint Bowyer 685 +57
15. Matt DiBenedetto 637 +9
16. William Byron 632 +4
17. Jimmie Johnson 628 -4
18. Erik Jones 582 -50

Live race updates:

(Saturday night’s race at Daytona is scheduled to start at 7:30 p.m. ET.)

7:10 p.m. ET: NASCAR announces Clint Bowyer must start the race from the back of the pack because of unapproved prerace adjustments.

5:55 p.m. ET: NASCAR announces Austin Dillon will start the race from the back of the pack after his team failed prerace tech inspection twice.

NASCAR race start time today

The green flag for Saturday night’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Daytona will wave shortly after 7:30 p.m. ET, assuming there are no rain delays as there have been so often since NASCAR returned to live racing in May.

The good news regarding the weather for Saturday night’s race is that summer conditions in Central Florida are relatively predictable, barring the threat of a tropical storm. Late-afternoon thunderstorms are common in the area, which is why the Daytona road course race a couple weeks ago was delayed, but the weather systems typically clear in the evening.

Daytona has lights, and this race in 2015 ran into the early morning hours after a lengthy rain delay. NASCAR has plenty of flexibility if weather becomes an issue Saturday night.

The Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona is scheduled for 160 laps and must reach the halfway point to be considered official.

NASCAR at Daytona starting lineup

Here is the full starting lineup for Saturday night’s NASCAR race at Daytona:

Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
4 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
5 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
8 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
10 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
14 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
19 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
20 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
22 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
23 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
24 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
25 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
26 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
27 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
28 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
29 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
30 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
31 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
32 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
33 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
35 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
36 Ross Chastain 77 Spire Motorsports
37 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
38 James Davison 51 Petty Ware Racing
39 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
40 Brendan Gaughan 62 Beard Motorsports

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.